## CLARE COUNTY ROAD COMMISSION

Minutes of the regular meeting of the Board of County Road Commissioners of Clare County, Michigan, hereinafter referred to as the Board, held at its office at 3900 East Mannsiding Road, Harrison, Michigan on March 7, 2023.

The meeting was called to order at 8:00 a.m. by Karen Hulliberger, Chairperson.

Commissioners present: Karen Hulliberger, Bill Simpson, Dave Coker, and Merle Harmon

Commissioners absent: Max Schunk

Staff present: Dewayne Rogers, Managing Director; Dave Bondie, Superintendent; Greg Hilyard, South Road Foreman; Brian Coon, North Road Foreman; and Kayla Randle, Finance Director/Board Secretary

Guests present: Gabe Ambrozaitis; Clare County Board of Commissioners, Dick and Connie Kleinhardt; Arthur Township Residents, Sheryl Beyer; Hatton Township Resident, and Larry Kleinhardt; Hatton Township Resident.

On a motion by Commissioner Harmon, seconded by Commissioner Simpson and approved with one absent, it was moved to approve the minutes of the February 21, 2023, regular meeting as presented.

The fund balance report was presented and discussed.

On a motion by Commissioner Harmon, seconded by Commissioner Coker and approved with one absent, it was moved to approve payments from March 7, 2023: AP (76898-76943), Payroll 2/22 (#54014-54024, #11231-11278), MERS, and HRA's totaling \$369,542.56.

Gabe Ambrozaitis, Clare County Board of Commissioners was present but did not have an update at this time.

Larry Kleinhardt, Hatton Township resident was present to voice a complaint on backroads.

Sheryl Beyer, Hatton Township resident was present to voice a concern with backroads and asked if employees receiving training before going on the roads.

Dick Kleinhardt, Arthur Township resident was present to complain about Ashard Road and wanting maintenance done.

On a motion by Commissioner Hulliberger, seconded by Commissioner Simpson and approved with one absent, it was moved to approve the transfer of primary MTF funds to local in the amount of \$1,609,194.23.

On a motion by Commissioner Coker, seconded by Commissioner Harmon and approved with one absent, it was moved to approve Karen Hulliberger, board chair, to sign the FY 22 ACT 51 report.

On a motion by Commissioner Coker, seconded by Commissioner Harmon and approved with one absent, it was moved to approve the resolution for Karen Hulliberger, board chair, to sign the ACT 51 mileage certification maps. A copy of the resolution may follow these minutes.

On a motion by Commissioner Coker, seconded by Commissioner Hulliberger and approved with one absent, it was moved to approve Dewayne to act in the best interest of the Road Commission to award the gravel, tree clearing, and chip seal bids.

Greg Hilyard, South Road Foreman stated the crews are out battling the gravel roads and trying to maintain them pending weather.

Dave Bondie, Superintendent updated that there are some changes to brine limits, and that he will learn more about the changes from EGLE at the SAMs meeting on Tuesday, March 14<sup>th</sup>.

Dewayne Rogers, Managing Director updated that there is progress on the round-a-bout, the Small Urban project hit a snag but will be back on track soon, and the Arnold Lake dip culvert project will start April 4<sup>th</sup> pending weather.

Commissioner Harmon asked for follow-up on the Lake 13 resident from the previous meeting. Dave Bondie let him know it was a matter of neighbor dispute as the homeowners are out of our right away. Commissioner Harmon also asked for a spreadsheet that shows what Townships have millages.

Commissioner Simpson wanted to express his condolences to Van Buren County Road Commission after their loss of an employee.

Commissioner Hulliberger wanted to express her condolences to the family of Carl Parks, and will be sending an arrangement on behalf of the Road Commission.

Commissioner Coker asked if Dewayne could reach out to the City of Clare to see if they need any help with preparing for the Irish Festival.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 9:16 a.m.

Kayla Randle, Finance Director/Board Secretary	Karen Hulliberger, Chairperson	